Saturday, December 23, 2006

Parliament - First Thangs

A collection for the true fan of the P-Funk sound. The sound on this record isn't your fully-evolved bouncing funk of later works by these musical geniuses. It appears to my ears than George Clinton & Co. were still messing around to find that true P-Funk sound that we all know and love. Many styles are apparent here, early funk, Southern Soul, Country and rock and roll. So, listen with an ear unprejudiced by later works and you will thoroughly enjoy the great music. Also, a couple of cuts here were alter re-worked into songs we all know and love Enjoy the adventure, children.

1. Red Hot Mama
2. Come In Out Of The Rain
3. Fantasy Is Reality
4. Breakdown
5. Loose Booty
6. Unfinished Instrumental
7. I Call My Baby Pussycat
8. Put Love In Your Life
9. Little Old Country Boy
10. Moonshine Heather (Takin' Care Of Business)
11. Oh Lord, Why Lord/Prayer
12. My Automobile
13. There Is Nothing Before Me But Thang
14. Funky Woman
15. Livin' The Life
16. The Silent Boatmen

links in comments


DaddyRich said...

Part 1 -

Part 2 -

soup said...

i have been looking for this. had it on tape way back but never knew the name of the album.

thanks very much.

Ben said...

Link is down