Wednesday, November 15, 2006

Iggy & The Stooges 1972 Rehearsals

A great review from online -

"Although all of these songs have been issued over the years on different compilations (and under different monikers), the British import Studio Sessions collects them nicely on a single disc. There were plenty of leftover compositions from their songwriting/jam sessions for their classic 1973 album Raw Power, a few being criminally left off the resulting release (was it the drugs?). Included is the definitive version of the rocker "Johanna," and which quite simply slays the Kill City take, as well as the hyperactive (and never officially released) "I Got A Right," which remains a popular track that Iggy includes in his set-list to this day. Longtime Stooges enthusiasts will be familiar with the oft-bootlegged "Head On," "Rubber Legs," and "Open Up & Bleed," but newcomers of the band will be blown away by the quality and intensity of these tracks. The only downside to the album is a drunken jam that drags on a bit too long ("Pin Point Eyes"), and the original mixes of 3 tracks from Raw Power (which are now available on the official 1997 re-release of Raw Power, re-mixed by Iggy himself in superior sound). The sound quality is good overall (varying from song to song), and the track selections make sense. By purchasing Studio Sessions, you won't have to buy the majority of other Stooges rarities releases."

1 Head On
2 Death Trip
3 I Got A Right
4 Hard To Beat
5 Cock In My Pocket
6 Rubber Legs
7 Johanna
8 Pin Point Eyes
9 Open Up And Bleed
10 Raw Power

link in comments


DaddyRich said...

Anonymous said...

gotta love iggy

milo said...

You can never have too much Iggy. The "Rubber Legs" import LP was always one of my favorites.

Anonymous said...

This is best LP! Exner, Czech